Monthly Archives: October 2013

CALIFORNIA ADOPTS TWO NEW EMPLOYMENT LAWS

California recently expanded its protection of employees by enacting two laws that will increase benefits provided by employers and the State.

State Minimum Wage Increase:  Governor Brown signed into law AB 10, which raises the minimum wage in two $1.00 increments, from the current $8 per hour rate to $9 per hour effective July 1, 2014, and then to $10 per hour effective January 1, 2016. California’s minimum wage is currently the seventh highest in the nation, trailing CT, IL, NV, OR, VT and WA. If no other states increase their minimums, by 2016 California will have the highest minimum wage in the country.

Expansion of Paid Family Leave Coverage: Governor Brown signed into law SB 770, which will expand the familial relationships covered by California’s paid family leave program. Currently, employees who are permitted to take unpaid time off to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, parent, domestic partner, or to bond with a minor child within one year of the birth, adoption or foster care placement of the child, can receive up to 6 weeks of wage replacement benefits under California’s family temporary disability (paid family leave) program. Beginning July 1, 2014, a seriously ill grandparent, grandchild, sibling and parent-in-law will also be included. This change does not directly increase an employer’s out-of-pocket expenses, as the program is funded by mandatory payroll deductions.